Link to Index Page

Professor Tarun Kant

Add a description…Institute Chair Professor
Department of Civil Engineering
Indian Institute of Technology Bombay, Powai, Mumbai-400 076, India

Tarun Kant was born on 1 July 1946 at Ballia in Uttar Pradesh, India. He received his BSc degree from the University of Allahabad in 1962, his BTech (Hons) in civil engineering from the Indian Institute of Technology Bombay (IIT Bombay) in 1967 and MTech in civil engineering with specialization in structural engineering from the Indian Institute of Technology Kanpur (IIT Kanpur) in 1969. He spent about one and a half year in a consulting engineering firm in Mumbai before joining IIT Bombay on 20 January1971 as a Lecturer. He earned his PhD degree while working as a Lecturer from IIT Bombay in 1977. He was selected as an Assistant Professor in 1978 and a Professor in 1986. He has held the positions of the Department Head (2000-2002), the Dean (Planning) of the Institute (2001-2003), the Chairman of the prestigious Joint Entrance Examination (JEE-1998) and the Chairman of the Central Library (1995-1999) with great distinction. He initiated and introduced many innovations effectively during his tenure. The Institute appointed him as an Institute Chair Professor with effect from 31st December 2009.
Prof. Kant was elected a Fellow of the Indian National Academy of Engineering (INAE) in 1999, a Fellow of the Indian Academy of Sciences (IASc) in 2004, a Fellow of the Indian National Science Academy (INSA) in 2007 and a Fellow of the National Academy of Sciences, India (NASI) in 2011. He is the first and only civil engineer in the country to get elected to all the four national academies. He is also the fourth civil engineer to get elected to the two national science academies (INSA and IASc). He has been visiting professors at University of Wales, Swansea (1979-’82), University of Cambridge (1993) and University of California, Los Angeles (2005).
He is a recipient of the Burmah-Shell Best Paper Prize. He was awarded the 1979 Jawaharlal Nehru Memorial Trust (U.K) Scholarship and the 1992-’93 European Commission (EC) Senior Faculty Exchange Fellowship, both by the Government of India. IIT-Bombay, on 13 March 2007, conferred the 2006 Professor H.H. Mathur Award for Excellence in Research in Applied Sciences in recognition of his outstanding work in the area of Mechanics of Composite Materials and Structures. He also received the 2009 Khosla National Award for his life time achievement in the field of engineering. He is also a recipient of the 2010 IIT Bombay Research Paper Award. IIT Bombay, on 4th April 2012, conferred on him the 2011 Life Time Achievement Award. ICCS17 (17th International Conference on Composite Structures, Porto, Portugal, 17-21 June 2013) honoured him by calling him a legend and recognized him as a pioneer in initiating a new direction in mechanics of composites.
He has published more than 135 research papers in refereed journals, 6 chapters in edited books, about 145 papers in conference proceedings, edited 4 books and currently serves on the editorial boards of 5 international journals and in diverse areas of computational structural mechanics. He has supervised 25 PhD theses and over 75 MTech dissertations. He has Research & Citation Standing in terms of h-index of 25 on Web of Science. His current citations are over 1800 on Web of Science
For more see the link Prof. Tarun Kant

Page 120 / 404